Tyler Cowen on Health Care

29 Jun

I don’t know anything about anything, but I am a semi-deadbeat who can now stay on his parent’s health care for another two years (the obvious intention is to be off their plan well before then), so that’s nice. On a side note, just because I am able to be on their plan and therefore benefit from the ACA, doesn’t mean I think its right that insurers must allow for the possibility that I don’t get a stable job (with health benefits) until I’m 26. It seems a little crazy for that to be the case.

Anyhow, here is Marginal Revolution Czar Tyler Cowen’s thoughts on the SCOTUS decision. I find #2 particularly intriguing:

1. Trust is higher now, and that is worth something, even if like me you never favored the mandate segment of ACA.

2. Implicit in some of these writings is the notion of “contingent on the fact that Roberts upheld ACA.”  You might have thought ex ante: “I don’t think Roberts should uphold ACA.”  But Roberts is a smart and savvy guy, smarter and savvier than most of us and of course better informed about the Court than just about anyone.  You could have held this view ex ante and still now hold: “Conditional on the fact that Roberts upheld ACA, I should think he did the right thing.”

Hardly anyone employs that line of reasoning, but that is a sign of our irrationality.

3. The Court maximizing or at least defending its prestige is sometimes necessary, even in a well-established constitutional democracy.  The Court is not there to do what you want it to, or even necessarily to do what is right.  Get used to that.

4. You may have noticed that I haven’t blogged the legal challenge to ACA all year.  I think that plenty of what our government does is unconstitutional; just remember back to when an amendment was considered necessary for “The War against Alcohol”.  But I’ve also long considered health care policy a matter to be settled by the legislature not the courts.  Those are the modern rules of the game, for better or worse, and all along I have thought that trying to live outside those rules was a fool’s errand of sorts.

5. The Republican Party, by the way, still doesn’t have a coherent alternative for health care reform, nor do they seem willing to embrace many of the better parts of ACA, such as (partially) deregulating dentistry or the Medicare Advisory Board.  Romney seems to want to replace the mandate with more expensive tax credits.  Furthermore, I believe that many Republican legislators would rather run against an unpopular Obamacare than to have to craft an actual, legislate-able alternative.

6. I still believe the mandate segment of ACA will prove unworkable, but I won’t be expecting the courts to fix that.

7. I don’t vouch for this, but it is angle I had not considered: “Making the mandate a tax has at least one other effect. It makes repeal easier. Now that the mandate has been deemed taxation, it can likely be jettisoned through use of the reconciliation process — meaning the Senate will need to muster only a bare majority for repeal, not 60 votes.”

8. I do think the Medicaid alterations in the Court’s decision will prove a big deal.  I am well aware that the large federal subsidies mean it still makes financial sense for states to continue with the program and the various extensions embedded in ACA.  But overall the program is not popular, and bringing it into the limelight in this fashion will go a long way toward making that common knowledge.  Most of the coverage extension under ACA came through Medicaid, I saw that as in danger in the first place, and now all the more so.

See the full post here.

Leave a Reply

